What is data governance and what are its challenges?

05 Aug 2022

What_is_data_governance_and_what_are_its_issues

Data governance has become a essential approach for any company, at a time when Big Data is taking an important place in business models. This concept allows each organisation to manage your data for the purpose of make the most of it. Mastering this concept is essential to the success of a data governance project.

Data governance: definition

Data governance, translated as data governance, is the set of processes and rules that govern the collection, management and protection of a company's data. It involves establishing an internal framework for optimising the use of data, while complying with legal regulations such as the RGPD. Data governance applies to all the different departments of the company and ensures that data are consistent and accessible to the right people.

What are the challenges of data governance in business? 

Every organisation deals with a huge and growing amount of information. All this data is valuable, provided that identify reliable data and quality. In this sense, data governance plays a very important role. By adopting this approach, the company is able to make efficient use of large volumes of data in order to gain a competitive advantage.

One of the other issues of data governance concerns the protection of data. Processing a large amount of data is a complex task that requires compliance with specific rules. Within each process, all data must be compliant with regulations in force. With data governance, data protection becomes a standard. It enables the company to comply with the new regulations on personal data and to minimise the risks.

Data governance is also the driving force behind the digital transformation within a company. By making reliable data available, it enables each department to make informed decisions. ⁣ the best business decisions.

What are the areas of application of data governance ?

As the use of data grows, data governance is being applied to business processes in a variety of industries and is tending to be applied even more widely. Here are some examples :

  • The medical sector The health sector is a highly regulated sector with regard to patient information and personal data. Data governance plays a crucial role in this sensitive area of business to protect data from misuse and unauthorised access.
  • The risk management : Data analysis must be properly managed in order for managers to make effective decisions.
  • The bank: data governance guarantees the protection of users and the smooth running of transactions.

The data governance approach also makes sense for companies in the context of mergers and acquisitions, as well as in the context of the possible application to machine learning and other AI tools.

What are the steps for a successful data governance project? 

The first step is to identify key data, necessary for a company's business challenges. By defining the data (date of origin, lifespan, etc.) and its uses, data governance makes it possible to share a common base and language to all employees. This data mapping facilitates access to information: everyone knows where to find the data, how it is used or transformed, and by whom.

In order to move towards a new data governance organisation, it is important to define the role of each person and the new responsibilities for data managers. This approach also requires passing on the data culture to all services to ensure that the facilitate the dissemination of information between all employees. In order to enhance the value of the data governance approach, it is necessary to put in place the appropriate IT tools for decision support and reporting, such as CRM, ERP, MDM, andprovide training for all levels.

Data governance professions

In order to succeed in a data governance project, it is essential to set up positions specifically for data management. Here are some of them:

  • The chief data officer (CDO) is implementing the data governance strategy within a company. He leads the change management and ensures that all data is protected and provided to employees.
  • The data protection officer ensures safety, the data privacy and compliance. It ensures that the data governance policy complies with current regulations.
  • The data analyst operates and interprets the data to guide the decision-making process.
  • The data scientist ensures theintegrity of the data, so that they can be properly exploited. They must be complete and of good quality.
  • The data architectconceives the technical structure to collect, store and process data in a common database.

How to learn about data governance ?

To access the various data governance professions, IPAG offers various Master of Science programmes. The MSc Digital Marketing & Data Analysis provides a solid foundation in digital strategy development, data analysis, as well as a mastery of the challenges of individual data protection. The MSc Manager of digital transformation aims to train future managers capable of designing and to drive digital transformation within an organisation.

Qu'est-ce que la data governance et quels sont ses enjeux ?

05 aoû 2022

Qu_est_ce_que_la_data_governance_et_quels_sont_ses_enjeux

La data governance est devenue une démarche primordiale pour toute entreprise, à l’heure où le Big Data prend une place importante dans les modèles économiques. Cette notion permet à chaque organisation de gérer ses données afin d’en tirer le meilleur parti. Il est essentiel de maîtriser ce concept pour mener à bien un projet de data governance.

Data governance : définition

La data governance, traduite par gouvernance des données, correspond à l’ensemble des processus et des règles qui encadrent la collecte, la gestion et la protection des données d’une entreprise. Il s’agit d’instaurer un cadre interne pour optimiser l’utilisation des données, tout en respectant les réglementations légales telles que le RGPD. La gouvernance des données s’applique à l’ensemble des différents services de l’entreprise et veille à ce que les données soient cohérentes et accessibles aux bonnes personnes.

Quels sont les enjeux de la data governance en entreprise ?

Chaque organisation traite une énorme quantité d’informations, qui ne fait que s’accroître. Tout ce volume de données représente de la valeur, à condition d’identifier les données fiables et de qualité. C’est dans ce sens que la data governance joue un rôle très important. En s’orientant vers cette démarche, l’entreprise est en mesure de tirer profit efficacement de volumes de données importants afin de dégager un avantage concurrentiel.

Un des autres enjeux de la data governance concerne la protection des données. Le traitement d’un grand nombre de données est une tâche complexe qui implique le respect de règles particulières. Au sein de chaque processus, toutes les données doivent être conformes aux réglementations en vigueur. Avec la data governance, la protection des données devient alors une norme. Elle permet à l’entreprise d’être en phase avec les nouvelles réglementations en matière de données personnelles et de minimiser les risques.

La gouvernance des données est également le moteur de la transformation digitale au sein d’une entreprise. En rendant les données fiables disponibles, elle permet à chaque service de prendre de meilleures décisions business.

Quels sont les domaines d’application de la data governance ?

Avec une utilisation de données qui se développe, la data governance s’applique aux processus d’entreprises de divers secteurs d’activité et tend à connaître une application encore plus large. En voici quelques exemples :

  • Le secteur médical : c’est un secteur soumis à de fortes réglementations en matière d’informations et de données personnelles relatives aux patients. La data  governance joue un rôle crucial au sein de ce domaine d’activité sensible pour protéger les données contre toute utilisation abusive et tout accès non autorisé.
  • La gestion des risques : l’analyse de données doit être correctement gérée afin que les dirigeants prennent des décisions efficaces.
  • La banque : la data governance garantit la protection des utilisateurs et le bon déroulement des transactions.

La démarche de data governance prend également tout son sens pour les entreprises dans un contexte de fusion-acquisition, ainsi que dans le cadre de l’application possible au machine learning et autres outils d’IA.

Quelles sont les étapes pour mener à bien un projet de data governance ?

La première étape consiste à identifier les données clés, nécessaires aux enjeux métiers d’une entreprise. En définissant les données (date d’origine, durée de vie, etc.) et leurs usages, la data governance permet de partager une base et un langage communs à tous les collaborateurs. Cette cartographie des données facilite l’accès à l’information : chacun sait où trouver la donnée, comment elle est utilisée ou transformée, et par qui.

Pour s’orienter vers une nouvelle organisation de data governance, il est important de définir le rôle de chacun et les nouvelles responsabilités pour les responsables de la data. Cette démarche nécessite également de transmettre la culture data à l’ensemble des services pour ainsi faciliter la diffusion d’informations entre tous les collaborateurs. Pour valoriser l’approche data governance, il convient de mettre en place les outils informatiques d’aide à la décision, de reporting adéquats tels que des CRM, ERP, MDM, et d’assurer la formation pour tous les niveaux.

Les métiers de la data governance

Pour réussir un projet de gouvernance de données, la mise en place de postes spécialement destinés à la gestion de data est indispensable. En voici quelques-uns :

  • Le chief data officer (CDO) met en œuvre la stratégie de data governance au sein d’une entreprise. Il mène la conduite du changement et veille à protéger et fournir l’ensemble des données aux collaborateurs.
  • Le data protection officer assure la sécurité, la confidentialité et la conformité des données. Il veille à ce que la politique de gouvernance des données soit conforme aux réglementations en vigueur.
  • Le data analyst exploite et interprète la donnée permettant d’orienter les prises de décision.
  • Le data scientist veille à l’intégrité des données, afin qu’elles soient correctement exploitées. Celles-ci doivent être complètes et de qualité.
  • Le data architect conçoit la structure technique permettant de collecter, stocker et traiter les données dans une base commune.

Comment se former à la data governance ?

Pour accéder aux divers métiers de la data governance, l’IPAG vous propose divers Master of Science. Le MSc Digital Marketing & Data Analysis offre de solides bases en matière d’élaboration de stratégie digitale, d’analyse de données, ainsi qu’une maîtrise des enjeux face à la protection des données individuelles. Le MSc Manager de la Transformation Digitale vise à former de futurs managers capables de concevoir et de piloter la transformation digitale au sein d’une organisation.